Constitution



Part 2: Articles of the Constitution

Article 8: The Regulatory and Other Committees

8.1 Regulatory and Other Committees

- The Council will appoint the Regulatory Committees set out in the left hand column of Table
 Responsibility for Council Functions in Part 3 of this Constitution to discharge the functions described in column 3 of that table.
- II. The Regulatory Committees will be the Licensing Committee and the Planning Committee.
- III. Although permitted, Members should not normally serve on more than one Regulatory Committee.
- IV. The Council will appoint a Democratic Services Committee and appoint Councillors in accordance with the requirements of the Local Government (Wales) Measure 2011. This is not a regulatory committee.
- V. The terms of reference of the Democratic Services Committee are set out in Part 3, of the Constitution

8.2 Licensing Committee

8.2.1 Composition and Chair of the Committee

- The Council will appoint a Licensing Committee to discharge the functions described in Column 3 of Table 2 in Part 3 of the Constitution.
- The Licensing Committee shall comprise not more than 12 members of the Council, one of whom may be a Member of the Cabinet.
- Proportionality shall apply to the composition of the Committee;
- The Council shall appoint the Chair and, if considered appropriate a Deputy Chair. In the
 absence of the Chair and any appointed Deputy, the Chair shall be taken by a Member of the
 Committee as elected by the Committee by a simple majority ballot

8.2.2 Procedures and Terms of Reference

 The Committee will conduct its proceedings in accordance with the Rules of Procedure set out in Part 4 of this Constitution

- Any procedures for the conduct of business by the Committee as adopted by the Council will be adhered to.
- The detailed Terms of Reference of Licensing Committee are set out in Part 3, Appendix 1 of the Constitution.
- The decisions of the Licensing Committee will be published on the Council's website as soon as
 possible after the decisions have been made, normally within 5 working days.
- Licensing Committee may make recommendations to the Council on matters relating to its functions.

8.3 Planning Committee

8.3.1 Composition and Chair of the Committee

- The Council will appoint a Planning Committee to discharge the functions described in Column 3 of Table 2 in Part 3 of the Constitution.
- The Planning Committee shall comprise not more than 11 members of the Council, one of whom may be a Member of the Cabinet.
- The quorum for Planning Committee is 6 Members. No substitutes are allowed.
- In multiple wards, only one ward member shall be appointed to Planning Committee.
- Proportionality shall apply to the constitution of the Committee.
- The Council shall appoint the Chair and, if considered appropriate a Deputy Chair. In the
 absence of the Chair and any appointed Deputy, the Chair shall be taken by a Member of the
 Committee as elected by the Committee by a simple majority ballot.
- Site inspections are decision making meetings and should therefore be carried out by full Committee, with a minimum quorum requirement of 6 members.

8.3.2 Proceedings Terms of Reference

- The Committee will conduct its proceedings in accordance with the Rules of Procedure set out in Part 4 of this Constitution
- Any procedures for the conduct of business by the Committee as adopted by the Council will be adhered to.
- The detailed Terms of Reference of Planning Committee are set out in Part 3, Appendix 1 of the Constitution
- The decisions of the Planning Committee will be reported to full Council for information.

8.4 Democratic Services Committee

The Council will appoint a Democratic Services Committee and appoint Councillors and lay member(s) in accordance with the requirements of the Local Government (Wales) Measure 2011.

The terms of reference of the Democratic Services Committee are set out in Part 3 of the Constitution.